Deleted content from your editor
If you have accidentally deleted content from your editor, you can try these two undo commands:
- CTRL+Z (Windows)
- CMD+Z (Mac)
Recover a post or page using Google’s cache
You might be able to recover a post or page using Google’s cache.
If your Privacy Settings (Settings -> Privacy) has been set to “Allow search engines to index this site” and the post/page has been published long enough for Google to index it, you can try the following steps:
- Go to http://www.google.com
- Submit a search for the post/page URL or a combination of your blog’s URL and the post/page title.
- If you receive a matching result, move your cursor over the result so the two right-facing arrows appear, hover over the double arrows, then click the Cached link.
If this displays a recent version of the post/page, you can then simply recreate a new post or page with the cached content.
On a related note, if you’re trying to recover a post, you might also want to change the Published date to match the date for the cached post, which you can do from the Publish module. (You can see Schedule a Post for details.) Plus, you can edit the post slug so it matches the original post URL.